Kilter Annie's…

thoughts, musings and the like

Coming back to myself

Leave a comment

Holy shit.  The first post.  So much pressure!  It’s funny how, when I’m in the shower or doing the dishes, I have so many ideas.  Now I actually have the time to sit and…nada.

How about this…I’m inspired and feeling like myself again.  It’s all about the plants, Man.  Over the years of being with someone who, though he supports and is fascinated by my interests, he doesn’t actually get INTO them (No judgement here.  I mean, hey, history’s not MY passion and I surely have ZERO interest in working with teenage kids, but that’s what he loves.), I have fallen off the bandwagon.  My independent study of herbs and holistic health had fallen by the wayside.  Getting back to college, after the (less than) year that I spent at Ohio University, I began some of the Holistic Health courses they offered.  I love the study, but have always questioned my knowledge to really go with it.

Now, enter my new interest in foraging.  After a few trips out with my girl Butter (yes, that’s the name she goes by.  And it’s awesome.  How can you NOT love Butter?!  Follow her blog at HungerandThirstforLife.blogspot.com, you’ll be glad you did.), I realized that we just start small.  I’m an over-thinker and, guess what?  I’ve been over-thinking.  Go figure.  Dude, I love it!  Wild asparagus.  Wild onions.  Motherwort.  Catnip.  Prickly lettuce.  This shit rocks!  I’ve made a tincture out of cleavers, put up dandelion flower oil, began wild onion-infused olive oil (as of tonight) and will be making dandelion leaf tea tomorrow.  Man, when this shit comes back, it comes back HARD.  I’ve got my son hooked on kefir that we’re playing with at home and just started my first batch of kombucha.  Guess what else I discovered…I know more than I’ve been giving myself credit.

I know, I’m light years behind so many others, but it feels so good to come back to myself.  I mean, I went from one kid to five in what feels like the blink of an eye.  Getting a driver’s license to cart a family around was a big change from busing and biking everywhere.  What came along with that change came frozen pizzas and weight gain.  Ew, gross.

To celebrate the end of the school year, *insert uninspired “yea” here, I took my boys out to find asparagus.  They loved it!  D clearly has the foraging bug while G just likes to throw rocks in the water…unless it’s easy to find said ‘gus, at which point he’s all about it.  Either way, I love sharing this with my kids.  They love their mint, lemon balm and strawberry snacks from the yard and I love that they are learning and know what so many other people are completely unaware of.

My point?  The time is now.  If you don’t like something, change it.  If you’re inspired, do it.  If you’re curious, study it.  Then get out an LIVE IT!

Motherwort (Leonurus cardiaca) at Fort Custer ...

Motherwort (Leonurus cardiaca) at Fort Custer Recreation Area in Augusta, MI. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

